ALBERT

Photographic portrait by J. E. Mayall of Brighton and New Bond Street.

Author: 
Sir Theodore Martin (1816-1909), Scottish poet, biographer and translator
Publication details: 
Without date. 'J. E. MAYALL | 91, KING'S ROAD | BRIGHTON | 164, NEW BOND ST. | LONDON. W.'
£35.00

Dimensions of photograph 9 x 5.5 cm. Good sepia image, on backing card with Mayall's details printed in red at foot. Reverse of card mostly covered with remains of previous cream paper mount. This image does not feature among the three portraits of Martin listed in the National Portrait Gallery's online catalogue of its collection.

Autograph Letter Signed ('P. Sainton') in English to unnamed female correspondent.

Author: 
Prosper Philippe Catherine Sainton (1813-90), French violinist
Publication details: 
24 September 1877; on letterhead 'Conteville, pres Boulogne-sur-mer'.
£56.00

Two pages, 12mo. Very good. He was absent when the letter to his wife (the English contralto Charlotte Dolby) arrived. He has heard 'the little boy', and thinks that 'with proper care he may turn out a good Violinist, but he hs to undo every thing and to be guided in the right Way. He has undoubtedly great disposition. If he is persevering and hard Worker (the Violin being the most difficult instrument) I believe he can be one day a very good player'. It is however 'impossible for me to forsee in the future before he has a good start in his Studies.'

Albert Rutherston: A Catalogue of the Illustrated Books, Periodicals, Pamphlets, Christmas Cards, Pantomimes, Diaries and Almanacks, Pattern Papers, Ornaments and Autographed Letters in the Collections of Manchester Polytechnic Library.

Author: 
Ian Rogerson [Albert Rutherston (1881-1953), artist and illustrator; Sir William Rothenstein]
Publication details: 
Manchester: Manchester Polytechnic Library, 1988.
£10.00

Quarto: ix + 21 pages. Stapled. In original cream wraps, with colour cover illustration by Helen Taylor. Full-page reproduction of drawing of Rutherston by his brother Sir William Rothenstein. Introduction places Rutherston in the tradition of Edward Gordon Craig and Claud Lovat Fraser. Copies of the second edition (1992) recorded by COPAC, but not at BL or Bodley.

Autograph Letter Signed to unnamed male correspondent.

Author: 
General Charles Grey
Publication details: 
W[indso]r. C[a]stle | Feb. 14. 1859'.
£32.00

Grey (1804-1870) was successively Private Secretary to Prince Albert and Queen Victoria. Three pages, 12mo. Good, on grubby paper discoloured with age. He acknowledges receipt of the letter of the twelfth inst. 'The recovery of any <?> which shd revert to the Crown, is, I apprehend, a matter for the Treasury to look to - as it is for the Gnt. to consider the provisions which it is expedient to adopt in any measure of the nature of that to which you allude.' He is commanded by Albert to thank his correspondent for the 'kind attention which has prompted you to make this communication'.

Three Autograph Letters Signed and one Typed Letter Signed to Kenneth Luckhurst, Secretary, and G. P. Griggs, Assistant Secretary, Royal Society of Arts, together with four unsigned carbons of Typed Letters from them to him.

Author: 
Sir Charles Harvard Gibbs-Smith [AVIATION]
Publication details: 
1949-51; three on letterheads of the Victoria & Albert Museum.
£200.00

Historian of aviation (1909-81) at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London. Eight items, various formats. Very good. LETTER ONE (two pages, octavo, 14 January 1949, on V & A letterhead): 'As a very new fellow of the Society I hesitate to burden you with reading the enclosed [an article on 'Father Gusmao: the first practical pioneer in aeronautics', not present], but I thought there might be some chance of its appearing in the Journal. It is too historical for the Roy. Aeronautical Society's Journal and too aeronautical for the others, so I am stuck!

Autograph Letter Signed 'To Mr Cooper'.

Author: 
Sir Henry Cole
Publication details: 
19/02/35
£150.00

English civil servant (1808-82), postal reformer, and archivist. Instrumental in the creation of the Victorian and Albert Museum and prominent in organizing the Great Exhibition. Two pages, octavo. Good, but on discoloured, foxed paper. An important letter, showing the chaos out of which the Public Record Office was formed.

Typed Letter Signed to unnamed male correspondent.

Author: 
Albert Bruce-Joy
Publication details: 
26 November 1894; on embossed letterhead 'The Studio Beaumont Road, | West Kensington. S.W.'
£56.00

Anglo-Irish sculptor (1842-1924). One page, quarto. Good, on slightly discoloured paper. The embossment has been gone over in light blue pencil to bring it up. A couple of manuscript marks by Bruce-Joy for emphasis. Begins Offers to show his correspondent the 'colossal Statue of Mr. Oliver Heywood, which I have lately completed in the marble' (leaving for Manchester 'in a few days'), as well as 'the finished marble Statue of Mr. Whitley, M.P., for St.

Autograph Note Signed to M[arion]. H[arry]. Spielman[n].

Author: 
Sir Aston Webb
Publication details: 
9 December 1903; on letterhead 19 Queen Anne's Gate, Westminster, London, S.W.
£45.00

English architect (1849-1930), responsible for many notable London buildings, including the Victoria and Albert Museum. The recipient Spielmann (1858-1948) was an art historian. One page, 12mo. Grubby, and with pin holes in top left-hand corner, as well as small closed tear at foot of leaf (not affecting text). Reads 'I regret that having to be in Manchester on Friday next I shall be unable to attend the art Committee of the St. Louis Exhibition'. Signed 'Aston Webb'.

Quo musa tendis?

Author: 
J[ames]. K[enneth]. Stephen [JACK THE RIPPER]
Publication details: 
Cambridge: Macmillan and Bowes. 1891.
£22.00

First edition. 12mo. Pages: 2 ('BIBLIOGRAPHY OF LAPSUS CALAMI.') + x + 84 + 4 pages of publishers' advertisements. Very good in original worn light-blue cloth with heavily-worn label on spine. Ownership inscription of Richard E. Benson (1892) on front free endpaper. Stephen was first put forward as Jack the Ripper in Michael Harrison's biography of Prince Albert Victor, 'Clarence' (1972).

Eleven Typed Letters Signed and one Autograph Letter Signed, variously to W. Perry and G. F. Menzies, Royal Society of Arts; and three-page typed 'brief statement of Dr. [Charles] Carpenter's qualifications', headed 'CONFIDENTIAL'.

Author: 
Edward Frankland Armstrong
Publication details: 
1927 to 1934; on letterheads including 'BUSH HOUSE, | ALDWYCH', 'BALDWIN HOUSE, | 67, QUEEN VICTORIA STREET', and that of the British Dyestuffs Corporation Ltd.
£120.00

British chemist (1878-1945), Vice-President of the Royal Society, 1942-3. All items in very good condition. All letters, one page, quarto. Subjects include an R.S.A. lecture by Armstrong on 'Hydrogen and its uses', the proof of another lecture, Armstrong's chairmanship of various R.S.A. meetings, his appointment as R.S.A. Vice-President, and the possibility of a 'paper on the hydrogenation of bituminous coal ('even though a good many people may be a little tired of the subject'): 'I suppose the man you ought to ask in the first place is K.

Catalogue & Supplement 5,800 named and dated silhouette portraits by August Edouard 1789-1861. Silhouettist to the Royal Family of France and to H.R.H. the Duke of Gloucester' and 'Catalogue of 3,800 [...] American silhouette portraits' by Edouart.

Author: 
Mrs F. Nevill Jackson [Augustin Amant Constant Fidèle Edouart; SILHOUETTE PORTRAITS]
Publication details: 
ITEM ONE (5,800 portraits): 'HARDING & CURTIS, LTD., BATH.' [1914]; ITEM TWO (3,800 American portraits): 'WAKEHAM, TYP., KENSINGTON.' [circa 1925].
£120.00

ITEM ONE: 56 pages, octavo. In original orange printed wraps. Poor, on cheap paper discoloured with age, and with damage and loss to wraps. PRESENTATION COPY to 'Mr. Joseph Ceci'. ITEM TWO: 32 pages, octavo. In original green printed wraps. Poor, on even cheaper paper fraying at extremities, but without loss to text. Both items with Mrs Jackson's address on front wrap amended in her hand. Both items poorly repaired with tape. Two items,

One Autograph Letter Signed and one Typed Letter Signed to W. Perry, Secretary, Royal Society of Arts.

Author: 
Sir Arthur Leigh Bolland Ashton [Leigh Ashton]
Publication details: 
Typed letter: 19 November 1930; autograph letter, no date; both items on (different) Victoria & Albert Museum letterheads.
£75.00

Director (1897-1983) and Secretary, Victoria and Albert Museum, 1945-55. Both items one page, quarto. Both in very good condition. Typed letter bearing R.S.A. stamp. Both items concerning a projected lecture. TYPED LETTER: Perry will have a typescript by the end of the month, 'but as a good dea of my lecture is extempore you may find it rather shorter than you had anticipated. The written part will be roughly two thousand words.' Signed Leigh Ashton'. AUTOGRAPH LETTER: Perry will 'have to be content with the length of M.S. I send in. It may possibly run to 3000 but not more.

Autograph Note Signed to Seymour Teulon

Author: 
C.W. Eborall
Publication details: 
South Eastern Railway, 7 June 1858
£50.00

Sometime Gen Manager of the S.E. Railway Co. (1820-1874). One page, 4to, saying that the Queen will meet the Prince [Albert} but wishes "particularly" that the Prince should not know until his arrival (much of this heavily underlined).

Syndicate content