CLAUD

[Lord Curzon [George Nathaniel Curzon, 1st Marquis Curzon of Kedleston]; Lord Milner [Alfred Milner, 1st Viscount Milner]; Claud Lovat Fraser.] Leaf from an autograph album, carrying signatures of 'Curzon of Kedleston', 'Milner' and 'Lovat Fraser.'

Author: 
Lord Curzon [George Nathaniel Curzon, 1st Marquis Curzon of Kedleston], Conservative statesman, Viceroy of India; Alfred Milner, 1st Viscount Milner; Claude Lovat Fraser, artist
Publication details: 
No place or date. [Before Lovat Fraser's death in 1921.]
£65.00

On both sides of 16 x 12.5 cm leaf, with rounded edges, torn from an autograph album. In good condition, lightly aged and creased. Firmly and elegantly written on one side, just over the centre: 'Lovat Fraser.' Towards the head of the other side, in a large somewhat untidy hand, with intermittent underlining: 'Curzon of Kedleston'. Beneath this: 'Milner'. No other writing on either side.

[ West Indies: signatures of four British Governors: Sir Edward Brandis Denham of British Guiana; Sir Thomas Reginald St Johnston, Leeward Islands; Sir William Charles Fleming Robertson, Barbados; Sir Alfred Claud Hollis, Trinidad and Tobago.

Author: 
Sir Edward Brandis Denham, Governor of British Guiana; Sir Thomas Reginald St Johnston, Leeward Islands; Sir William Charles Fleming Robertson, Barbados; Sir Alfred Claud Hollis, Trinidad and Tobago
Publication details: 
No place. Three of the signatures are dated from January 1932, the other two are undated.
£350.00

The five signatories are: Sir Alfred Claud Hollis (1874-1962), Governor of Trinidad and Tobago, 1930-1936, and author of a historical account of Spanish Trinidad; his wife Enid Mabel Hollis (née Longman), Lady Hollis (1888-1939); Sir Edward Brandis Denham (1876-1938), Governor of British Guiana, 1930–1935, and Jamaica, 1935–1938; Sir Thomas Reginald St Johnston (1881-1950), Governor of the Leeward Islands, 1929-1936; Sir William Charles Fleming Robertson (1867-1937), Governor of Barbados, 1925-1932. On one side of a 13.5 x 16.5 cm leaf of cream paper torn from an autograph album.

List of publications 'At the Sign of Flying Fame' in the form of a handbill.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE, IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR R.H., L.F., AND H.J., AT THEH SIGN OF FLYING FAME, 45 ROLAND GARDENS, | LONDON, S.W., WHERE COPIES MAY BE HAD. | 1913.'
£20.00

Printed on pink [faded from red?] unwatermarked paper, with cream backing. Dimensions of paper roughly fourteen centimeters by thirty-three centimeters. A frail ephemeral item. Lightly creased, and with further creasing and closed tears at head and foot, and minor loss at head. Faded, and with further fading at head. Headed 'At the Sign of Flying Fame.' Illustration by Lovat Fraser of mounted seventeenth-century man blowing bugle over cityscape. 'LIST OF PUBLICATIONS' includes details of six broadsides and four chap-books.

Albert Rutherston: A Catalogue of the Illustrated Books, Periodicals, Pamphlets, Christmas Cards, Pantomimes, Diaries and Almanacks, Pattern Papers, Ornaments and Autographed Letters in the Collections of Manchester Polytechnic Library.

Author: 
Ian Rogerson [Albert Rutherston (1881-1953), artist and illustrator; Sir William Rothenstein]
Publication details: 
Manchester: Manchester Polytechnic Library, 1988.
£10.00

Quarto: ix + 21 pages. Stapled. In original cream wraps, with colour cover illustration by Helen Taylor. Full-page reproduction of drawing of Rutherston by his brother Sir William Rothenstein. Introduction places Rutherston in the tradition of Edward Gordon Craig and Claud Lovat Fraser. Copies of the second edition (1992) recorded by COPAC, but not at BL or Bodley.

A garland of new songs by L. F.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON; AT THE SIGN OF FLYING FAME]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE | IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR FLYING FAME, | 45 ROLAND GARDENS, LONDON, S.W., WHERE | COPIES MAY BE HAD FROM THE | SECRETARY. | [short rule] | 1913.'
£56.00

Eight pages, 12mo. Unbound and unstitched. Unfolds into a single leaf. Paper watermarked 'OAKWOOD | FINE VELLUM'. Five different illustrations (one of which is duplicated). Grubby, spotted and with small closed tears and fraying along one edge (not affecting text or illustrations). 'PRICE FOURPENCE PLAIN; SIXPENCE COLOURED.' This copy is uncoloured.

A garland of portraitures.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON; AT THE SIGN OF FLYING FAME]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE | IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR FLYING FAME, | 45 ROLAND GARDENS, LONDON, S.W., WHERE | COPIES MAY BE HAD FROM THE | SECRETARY. | [short rule] | 1913.'
£56.00

Eight pages, 12mo. Unbound and unstitched. Unfolds into a single leaf. Paper watermarked 'OAKWOOD | FINE VELLUM'. Three illustrations. Good, but paper slightly discoloured and with some spotting. 'PRICE 2 PENCE PLAIN, 4 PENCE COLOURED.' This copy is uncoloured.

Illustrated handbill for two of his publications.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER]
Publication details: 
Without date or place [1916].
£85.00

Printed on unwatermarked tissue paper. Dimensions of paper roughly seven and a half centimeters by eleven and a half. A very good copy of a frail and ephemeral item. An attractive illustration by Fraser of an ivy-clad wall memorial topped by a cherub encloses the following 'There are Published | I. Farewell to the Faeries, by Richard Corbett. | II. Three Poems, by Kenneth Hare. | Decorated and Published by C. Lovat Fraser, and can be obtained from Everard Meynell, 46 Museum Street, W.C. | [short rule] | Price SIXPENCE each, net.'

Syndicate content