[Sir William Rothenstein, artist.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Will Rothenstein'), to 'Horder', i.e. the architect Percy Morley Horder, giving a humorous spoof autobiographical entry, as a jokey suggestion of how Horder should approach the topic.

Sir William Rothenstein (1872-1945), painter, printmaker, draughtsman, lecturer, and writer on art [Percy Richard Morley Horder (1870-1944), architect ]
Publication details: 
'Chelsea – Glebe Place | Sunday'. No place.

1p, 8vo. Text clear and complete, on heavily chipped and worn thin paper, with loss to extremities. An unusual and revealing letter, in which Rothenstein gives his own jokey suggestion of how Horder should approach a biographical entry he has been asked to write, begins: 'My dear Horder – of course you will do it! “Mr W. R.

[ Victor Plarr, nineties poet. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Victor G. Plarr') to H. T. Scott, author of "A Guide to the Collector of Historical Documents, etc", describing a selection of autographs he has just purchased for resale.

Victor Plarr [ Victor Gustave Plarr; Victor G. Plarr ] (1863-1929), nineties poet, librarian of the Royal College of Surgeons, member of the Rhymers' Club
Publication details: 
On letterhead of 7 Eldon Road, Kensington, W. [ London ] 17 November 1900.

3pp., 12mo. In good condition. Plarr's entry in the Oxford English Dictionary does not note that he dealt in autographs, but the present item suggests that he was more than just a collector who dabbled. At the time of writing, and until his death, he was Librarian of the Royal College of Surgeons. The letter is addressed to 'H. T. Scott Esqre., M.D.' and begins: 'Dear Sir | It is long since you have heard from me. | I have just bought several autographs which you may care to know of -'.

Catalogue of etchings by Robert Austin, A.R.E. [interleaved by Walker with material relating to Austin, 1926-1933].

Robert Sargent Austin [Campbell Dodgson; Rainforth Armitage Walker]
Publication details: 
London: Published by the Twenty One Gallery, Durham House Street, Adelphi, W.C.2, 1926.

Austin (1895-1973) was a British etcher, engraver and watercolourist. R.A. Walker (born 1886), whose bookplate is on the front pastedown, was a connoisseur and Aubrey Beardsley scholar. Quarto, twenty-six leaves. Internally tight, clean and sound, in worn and stained half-leather binding, with 'ROBERT AUSTIN' in gilt on spine. The item contains a total of forty-seven reproductions of Austin's works, many gleaned from magazines, etc, and tipped in throughout.

Two Autograph Letters Signed to Osbert Burdett, both on the subject of his study of the novels of the Dutch writer 'Maarten Maartens'.

Norreys Jephson O'Conor (1890-1964), Irish-American poet [Osbert Burdett; 'Maarten Maartens']
Publication details: 
18 and 21 November 1930; both on letterheads of 31 Edwardes Square, Kensington, W8.

Both letters 4to, 2 pp. Both texts clear and complete, and both in fair condition, with dog-eared corners. In the first letter O'Conor writes that he has 'heard from Miss Maartens', and that he is sending 'Dr van Maanen's' study of the author. 'Miss Maartens suggests that you and I might meet, which appeals greatly to me, for I enjoyed your review of the Maarten Maartens letters and have also heard about you from my friend John Gould Fletcher.' Gives a time when 'Miss Maartens is coming to the London Library to read some Dutch' for him, and he suggests that Burdett join them.

A London Comedy and Other Vanities. With seven reproductions of pictures by Maurice Greiffenhagen.

Egan Mew [Maurice Greiffenhagen; Elkin Mathews]
Publication details: 
London: George Redway. Printed by William Clowes and Sons, Limited, Stamford Street and Charing Cross. 1897.

AUTHOR'S COPY, WITH HIS MANUSCRIPT REVISIONS FOR THE SECOND EDITION. Octavo: 96 pages. Seven plates (of eight). Original olive cloth gilt, with pierrot on front board. Numbered copy twelve in the edition. One leaf (pages 49-50) removed. Aged, and in heavily worn boards. Carrying manuscript changes on twenty-two pages, as well as on a plate and the front board. Cutting loosely inserted, regarding a couplet by 'E. V. L.' of Brighton (clearly E. V. Lucas) addressed to Mew regarding the word 'hyperbole'. Six of Greiffenhagen's seven illustrations are present.

[Manuscript]"Trustee in Bankruptcy of Grant Richards to Mr A. Moring / Assignment of Goodwill and publishing rights of 'Worlds Classics &c'", Signed by H.A. Moncrieff, Accountant, "Trustee of the estate of . . . Grant Richards in Bankruptcy"

[BOOK TRADE; PUBLISHING HISTORY] [Grant Richards, Publisher]
Publication details: 

Two leaves, vellum, folio, one page blank, folded, good condition. Details he bankruptcy of Grant Richards are given, mentioning the addresses of his premises, and continues: "The said Alexander Moring [publisher, de la More Press] has recently agreed with the said . . . Moncrieff for the purchase of the stock in trade copyrights publishing rights and goodwill of the business of the said Grant Richards . . . [17 April 1905] for the sum of Nine Thousand pounds and upon payment of Three Thousand five hundred pounds . . .

A collection of autograph letters signed or initialled to [John] Lane, publisher

D.Y. Cameron.
Publication details: 
Dun Eaglais Kippen and other places, 1903-1916, one undated.

Artist and etcher. See new DNB for substantial entry. Twelve autograph letters and notes signed, all 8vo, total 35+ pages, good condition. Contents: (undated letter) asking Lane to get a "Miss Hester Frow" work as illustrator with a weekly or monthly periodical (19 May 1903) He tells Lane to expect a letter from a Miss White concerning "an interesting matter" which she had already put before another London publisher, but Cameron thought Lane "the real man for the subject". He thinks the projected book would have a large circulation and she is "well known" as is her father, J.

Autograph Note Signed to [?] Locker [Arthur Locker or Frederick Locker-Lampson]

Charles Hamilton Aidé [Aide, Aïdé]
Publication details: 
Without date; on letterhead 'Aston Clinton, | Tring.'

Author and musician (1826-1906), described by Louise Jopling as 'a rich bachelor' and 'a noted figure in the seventies'. 1 page, 16mo. In good condition despite slight creasing and discoloration. Letterhead in green and black ink. Reads 'My dear Locker, | Many thanks - I will meet you at the Athenaeum at 3 o'Ck. on Tuesday - I have done, & shall do nothing till then. | Every yrs. | Hamilton Aïdé'.

Syndicate content