warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/richardf/public_html/modules/taxonomy/ on line 33.

[Henriette d'Angeville, mountaineer.] Autograph Letter Signed, in French, thanking Lady Cullum of Hardwick for her support on her climb of Mont Blanc, with 'Bouquet' of dried flowers picked in the Alps. AND important Memorandum detailing the Climb.

Henriette d'Angeville (1794-1871), mountaineer, the second woman to climb Mont Blanc [Lady Ann Cullum (1807-1875), wife of Sir Thomas Gery Cullum (1777-1855) of Hardwick House]
Publication details: 
[Letter] 'Genève ce 18 7bre 1838.' Memorandum] 'Chamonix 5 7bre 1838'.

A. Autograph Letter. The present letter – a very nice artefact of female mountaineering – was written immediately after d'Angeville's first ascent of Mont Blanc in 1838 (she was the second person to climb the mountain, after Maria Paradis thirty years before), and sending a selection of flowers picked on the way to Lady Cullum, who had been present to give her encouragement. D'Angeville would climb Mont Blanc again, in addition to a further twenty-one other peaks in the following twenty-five years. Her last Alpine ascent was on Oldenhorn, at age 65. The letter is 2pp, 4to.

[John Lindley, eminent botanist.] Autograph Letter in the third person, informing 'Major Abby' that the birds he 'enquires for' are not present in the Garden of the Horticultural Society.

John Lindley (1799-1865), eminent botanist, Assistant Secretary of the Horticultural Society of London, Professor of Botany at University College, London
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the Horticultural Society of London, 21 Regent Street. 17 April 1841.

1p, 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged, with a two fold lines. Ornamented engraved letterhead. Reads: 'Dr Lindley presents his Compts to Major Abby & begs to inform him that there are no such birds as he enquires for in the Garden of the Horticultural Society, nor has there ever been. There is only a couple of gulls & a duck, which were presented by the Zoological Society'.

[Rider Haggard writes to Rudyard Kipling's wife.] Autograph Letter Signed ('H . Rider Haggard') to 'Mrs. Kipling', discussing in detail the flowers he has sent her.

H. Rider Haggard [Sir Henry Rider Haggard] (1856-1925), author of adventure novels including 'King Solomon's Mines' and 'She' [Caroline Starr Balestier Kipling (1862-1939), wife of Rudyard Kipling]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of Ditchingham House, Norfolk. 13 December 1909.

3pp, 12mo. Bifolium. In fair condition, with one central vertical fold, and patch of small holes at head of second leaf. Interesting letterhead, with image of Egyptian hieroglyphics. Someone (probably Mrs Kipling) has written 'orchid' on the first page. The letter begins: 'Mr dear Mrs. Kipling, | I sent you a few flowers today by post, also (by rail to Etchingham) a Cypripedium Insigne, a Blush Rambler & a Lady Gay rose. The Cyp: Insig: is very fairly hardy but I should not stand it in too violent a draught.

A pressed flower, picked from the grave of the American politician Daniel Webster by Marie de Grasse Stevens [later Lady Evans].

[Daniel Webster (1782-1852), American politician; Marie de Grasse Evans (d.1920), Lady Evans [nee Marie de Grasse Stevens, daughter of Hon. Samuel Stevens of Albany, New York]
Publication details: 
Picked from the Old Winslow Burial Ground section of the Winslow Cemetery, near Marshfield, Massachusetts. August 1859.

Small sprig (6cm long), pinned to 8 x 5 cm piece of ruled paper, torn from a notebook. The paper carries the note by Stevens: 'Grave of Daniel Webster | August 1859.' Placed in a 9.5 x 12 cm envelope, docketted in pencil: 'From Daniel Webster's grave | M. F. B'. Marie de Grasse Stevens, daughter of the Hon. Samuel Stevens of Albany, New York, friend and colleague of Daniel Webster, and widow of Irving Van Wart, married the English banker Francis Henry Evans in 1872. She became Lady Evans on his being knighted in 1893. From the Evans papers.

Twelve original Victorian views of Edinburgh, steel-engravings for T. and W. McDowall by T. G. Flowers, G. Grierson, and John Johnstone. With one engraving of Loch Ness, engraved by John Gellatly from J. Ferguson for J. Menzies.

[T. G. Flowers; John Gellatly (1803-1856); G. Grierson, John Johnstone, engravers; T. and W. McDowall and John Menzies, publishers; Victorian views of Edinburgh; Scotland; Scottish engraving]
Twelve original Victorian views of Edinburgh
Publication details: 
Edinburgh: T. and W. McDowall, 14 North Bridge; and J. Menzies, 61 Princes Street. [1840s?]
Twelve original Victorian views of Edinburgh

The twelve McDowall engravings each on separate cards of shiny art paper, each 90 x 130 cm, and all but the card with the image of the Scott Memorial (see below) in landscape. The Menzies engraving of Loch Ness, in similar style to the others on shiny art paper, but slightly larger, at 90 x 140 cm and landscape. Delicate items, in fair condition, with browning to edges, but images clear and complete. The engravings on the McDowall cards are as follows. By T. G. Flowers: Heriot's Hospital (founded 1628); and 'Assembly Hall, Heriots Hospital and Castle'. By G.

3 Autograph Letters Signed and 1 Autograph Card Signed [to his publishers?]

James Britten
Publication details: 
The letters, 21 and 31 May and 29 July 1883, all from Isleworth; the card, 20 [month?] 1890, stamped '18, WEST SQUARE | SOUTHWARK, S.E.'

Botanist and Roman Catholic propagandist (1846-1924). All but the second letter, which is addressed 'Gentlemen', are addressed 'Dear Sirs'. The letters are all 12mo, and embossed at the head of the first leaf 'NOX VENIT QUANDO NEMO POTEST OPERARI'. In letter 1 (1 page) he asks that his 'Collecting book of Flowering Plants' be sent to him: he will mention it in his 'Journal of Botany' for June.

Syndicate content