[George du Maurier's 'Trilby'.] The original version, as published in eight parts in Harper's New Monthly Magazine, containing the characterisation of 'Joe Sibley', revised on publication in book form following complaints from the artist Whistler.

George du Maurier [James Abbott McNeill Whistler; Harper & Brothers, New York and London]
Publication details: 
The eight parts extracted from Harper's New Monthly Magazine (Harper & Brothers, New York and London), January to August 1894.

[179]pp., 8vo, paginated 167-189 (and magazine frontispiece); 329-350; 567-[587]; 721-741; 825-[847] [the last five from vol.88]; 67-87; 261-284; 351-374 [the last three from vol.89]. In a contemporary binding, with ticket of Goulden & Curry, The Royal Library, Tunbridge Wells. Very good, lightly aged and worn, in black leather half-binding with black cloth boards and gilt tooling. Ownership inscription on front free endpaper: 'Weldon | Didmarton | Janry. 1900 -'.

[George Chalmers, Scottish antiquary; and Rev. Samuel Harper, Under-Librarian at the British Museum.] Autograph memorandum by Chalmers of 'Notes of Documents', on reverse of Autograph third person Note from Harper to him, regarding the Reading Room.

Rev. Samuel Harper (1732-1803), FRS, Under-Librarian of Printed Books at the British Museum; George Chalmers (1742-1825), Scottish antiquary, Chief Clerk in the Plantation Office of the Privy Council
Publication details: 
Harper's note dated 'British Museum | Wednesd. May 1. [no year]'. Chalmer's memorandum without place or date.

Harper's note is on the recto of the first leaf of a 4to bifolium, addressed by him to 'George Chalmers Esqr' on the reverse of the second leaf, which is docketted by Chalmers 'Notes of Documents from - 1760/67'.. Chalmer's memorandum is written lengthwise and upwards on the reverse of the first leaf. In good condition, on aged paper. Harper's note reads: 'Mr. Harper presents his Respects to Mr. Chalmers with many Thanks for the kind Notice with which he is pleased to honour him. | The Reading Room will be open to Mr. Chalmers whenever he finds it agreeable to avail himself of it'.

Typed Note and Typed Letter Signed, one to the Editor and the other to the Secretary, Royal Society of Arts.

Charles Crowther
Publication details: 
20 February and 14 March 1940; both on crested letterhead of the Harper Adams Agricultural College, Newport, Hampshire.

Agricultural chemist (1876-1964). Both one page, quarto, and very good, though lightly creased. The letter carries a few light carbon-paper stains. The note informs the editor of the R.S.A. journal that Crowther is returning the 'corrected copy of my remarks in the discussion on my paper. | I presume that you will be sending me a supply of reprints when the Journal comes out'. The letter thanks the secretary for the copies of the journal.

Syndicate content