WHYMPER

[Josiah Wood Whymper, Suffolk artist and wood-engraver.] Autograph Letter Signed ('J. W. Whimper'), giving detailed instructions to a book illustrator, with reference to Sir John Gilbert and 'Hardings book'.

Author: 
J. W. Whymper [Josiah Wood Whymper, also Whimper] (1813-1903), Suffolk artist, wood-engraver, book illustrator and watercolourist in natural history and landscape [Sir John Gilbert (1817-1897), artist
Publication details: 
'Saty Evng.' [No date or place.]
£80.00

3pp, 12mo. Bifolium. In fair condition, lightly aged, with traces of glue from mount adhering to blank reverse of second leaf. Folded three times. The recipient is not named, but is clearly a book illustrator, and the letter provides an interesting view of the practices of book illustrators and engravers in Victorian London. Whymper begins by stating that he is sorry to have missed his 'Call', and to have been 'equally unfortunate this afternoon', when he left at his house 'Two pieces of wood & a little book I want you (if convent [sic]) to make me a Front[ispiece]. for by Thursday Morng.

[ Hand-coloured series of images ] "Phenomena of Nature"

Author: 
[ "Whimper"; Josiah Wood Whymper ]
Publication details: 
London: Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge; S. Bentley, printer, [1846 ]
£800.00

Thirty plates Illustrative of Natural Phenomena, with a short description annexed to each hand-coloured plate, 4to, 35 x 28cm, hf.bound, green cloth, black cf corners and sp., worn, gt bands on spine, 30 engraved plates with fine original hand colour (some spotted, one with small closed tear not affecting text), MS. list of images on verso of front free endpaper, with attractive MS. title "Phenomena of Nature"on recto of second free endpaper, images mostly by Whymper if not all.

[Josiah Wood Whymper, Victorian wood engraver.] Autograph Letter Signed ('J W Whymper'), congratulating the painter Sir John Gilbert on his election as an Associate Member of the Royal Academy.

Author: 
Josiah Wood Whymper (1813-1903), Victorian wood engraver [Sir John Gilbert (1817-1897), English painter; the Royal Academy of Arts]
Publication details: 
Haslemere [Surrey]. 1 February 1872.
£65.00

3pp., 12mo. Bifolium. Good, on lightly-aged paper, with minor traces of mount to the corners of the blank reverse of the second leaf. The letter begins: 'Dear Gilbert | Thomas told me yesterday - at your gallery - that he had heard you had an attack of rheumatic fever'. He hopes that this is not true, as it is 'a most painful complaint', adding: 'I beg that you will give me a line as soon as you feel well, which we al must [hope] will be very soon'.

Syndicate content