[ Guillaume Boichot, French sculptor. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Boichot | membre de l'institut national'), to a 'Citoyen Collegue', asking for seeds for the planting of a botanic garden.

Guillaume Boichot (1735-1814), French sculptor [ Christian de Launoy and Joseph PItton de Tornefort, botanists ]
Publication details: 
'Autun Ce 22 pluviose A. 7'. [ 10 February 1799 ]

1p., 4to. In good condition, on lightly-aged paper. Written in a small hand over 22 lines. He begins by stating that he is writing on behalf of 'lécole Centrale du departement de Saone et Loire séant a Autun', 'particulierement le professeur d'histoire naturelle et moi professeur de dessein en la même école'. The recipient will render them a great service if he will send 'toutes les graines qui sont denommée sur une premiere liste que jai remis'. The rest of the letter asks the recipient, with the help of 'le Ci. l'aunoy' [i.e.

Letter, in a secretarial hand, in French, with what is said to be the illegible signature of Lacretelle [to Lenormand?].

Charles Lacretelle le jeune [Jean Charles Dominique de Lacretelle] (1766-1855), historian [Léonce Lenormand, editor of the 'Journal de Saône-et-Loire']
Publication details: 
1 September 1853; place not stated.

12mo, 2 pp, 32 lines. Good. Docketed in a nineteenth-century hand in pencil in top left-hand corner 'Lacretelle (Charles) à Lenormand, réd. du J. de Saone & Loire à Mâcon' and in another hand 'Acad. Fr'. Asks to be verbally informed of the news of 'Mr. Ochier, à supposer qu'il vous eut enfin révélé le motif de son long silence au milieu des prodiges qui s'opérent aujourd'hui pour les moyens de communication entre les deux hémisphères, je n'aurais jamais pensé que celle de Mâcon et de Cluny, présentassent de telles difficultés'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('P. Lorain | Professeur à la Faculté de Médecine de Paris') to unnamed male correspondent. In French.

Paul Lorain (1827-1875), Medical Examiner and Professor of the History of Medicine and Surgery at the Faculté de Médecine de Paris
Publication details: 
18 July 1873; Assay le Rideau, Loire.

8vo: 1 p. On grubby, creased, discoloured paper, with chipping and slight loss to extremities. In French. As a result of the bad state of his health he is forced to live far from Paris and will not be able to accept the invitiation of the British Medical Assocation. The writer will soon receive the replies of those of Lorain's colleagues who have also been invited.

Syndicate content