[Cardinals of the Roman Catholic church.] Signatures of twenty-five Roman Catholic cardinals under Popes Pius X and Benedict XV, on parts of twenty-six official documents, many addressed to Cardinal Willem Marinus van Rossum.

[Roman Catholic cardinals; Popes Pius X and Benedict XV; Cardinal Willem Marinus van Rossum]
Publication details: 
From various locations. Dated signatures between 1911 and 1921.
SKU: 22564

The signatures of twenty-five Roman Catholic cardinals (one having two examples) on 26 strips of paper, cut from official documents, many of them addressed to Cardinal Willem Marinus van Rossum (1854-1932), Prefect of the Congregation for the Propagation of the Faith. The collection is in good condition, on lightly aged paper, several of the items having fold lines. Four of the signatures have not been identified. The others are those of: Bartolomeo Bacilieri (1842-1923), Bishop of Verona; António Mendes Belo ['A. Card. Mendes Bello'](1842-1929), Patriarch of Lisbon; Adolf Bertram (1859-1945), Archbishop of Breslau; Tommaso Pio Boggiani (1863-1942), Archbishop of Genoa; Francis Alphonsus Bourne (1861-1935), Archbishop of Westminster; Joaquim Arcoverde de Albuquerque Cavalcanti (1850-1930), Archbishop of Rio di Janeiro; János Csernoch (1852-1927), Archbishop of Esztergom and Primate of Hungary; François-Marie-Anatole de Rovérié de Cabrières (1830-1921), Bishop of Montpellier; Dennis Joseph Dougherty (1865-1951), Archbishop of Philadelphia; Károly Hornig (1840-1917), Bishop of Veszprém; Aleksander Kakowski (1862-1938), Archbishop of Warsaw; Pietro La Fontaine (1860-1935), Patriarch of Venice; Louis-Henri-Joseph Luçon (1842-1930), Archbishop of Reims; Louis-Joseph Maurin (1859-1936), Archbishop of Lyons; Victoriano Guisasola y Menendez (1852-1920), Archbishop of Toledo and Primate of Spain; Alfonso Maria Mistrangelo (1852-1930), Archbishop of Florence; José Sebastião de Almeida Neto [as 'Fr. Josephum S. Card. Netto'] (1841-1920), Patriarch of Lisbon; William Henry O'Connell (1859-1944), Archbishop of Boston; Friedrich Gustav Piffl (1864-1932), Archbishop of Vienna; Agostino Richelmy (1850-1923), Archbishop of Turin [two examples]; Hector Sévin (1852-1916), Archbishop of Lyons.